Texas Hill Country | Central Texas Land and Ranches for Sale

Freestone County, Texas

Grazing Land

About Freestone County, Texas

Freestone County is located in east central Texas and bounded by the Trinity River, Richland-Chambers Reservoir and Fairfield Lake. Land features rolling Blackland with sandy, loam soils. Local economy consists of natural gas and agriculture. View Freestone County Land Listings

Land and Ranch Market Snapshot
Total Listings 0
Average Price $
Highest Price $
Lowest Price $

Freestone County Land and Ranches for Sale

Freestone County Land and Ranches for Sale

No listings were found matching your search criteria.

Get FREE Custom Search Features & Updates


Freestone County Information

Freestone County is located in East Central Texas and covers an area of approximately 888 square miles. The county is one of a group of counties previously known as the Trinity Star. 

Freestone County Land For Sale

Freestone County is a coastal plain upland with a relatively smooth topography with gentle slopes. The western side of the county has mesquite timbers, and the eastern half is largely oak, hickory, and walnut trees. View Freestone County Property Listings.

Searching For Freestone County Properties For Sale

The temperatures in Freestone County reach highs of 94° F in mid summer to lows of 36 degrees in the Winter. The land drains through the Trinity River which runs as a boundary down the West side of the county.

The are 4 surrounding counties that also offer great real estate options:

What is Freestone County, Texas Known For?

In 1824 the Mexican government opened Texas to American colonization. Through a law passed by the Coahuila and Texas in 1825, uninhabited tracts of land in the area were opened to contractors and empresarios. In 1826 David G Burnet was granted a tract of land to settle 300 families in the area within 6 years. This area later became known as Freestone County.

What Is The Seat Of Freestone County?

The county was legally created in 1850, and in 1851 Fairfield was founded as the county seat.

What Other Communities Are Located In Freestone County?

There are a number of cities, towns, communities, and settlements in Freestone County, Texas. Fairfield, Teague, Kirvin, Oakwood, Streetman, Wortham, Dew, Donie, and Freestone are all cities and communities in the county. 

Schools and Education

There are 14 public schools in Freestone County: 5 with high school, 5 with middle school, 10 with elementary levels, and 4 with Pre-K school levels.

The schools are: Fairfield High School (9-12), Teague High School (Pk-12), Wortham High School (9 -12), Teague Daep (K-12), Teague Lion Academy (10 -12), Dew Elementary School (K - 8), Fairfield J High School (6 - 8), Wortham Middle School (6 - 8), Fairfield Intermediate School (3 - 5), Wortham Elementary School (PK - 5), Teague Elementary School (PK - 3), Teague Intermediate School (4 - 5), Fairfield Elementary School (PK - 2).


Learn More About Texas Land & Ranches For Sale